Voter registration phase one ends today

Written by 

The first phase of voter registration for the 2019 Tripartite Elections is ending today, Monday July 9 2018, the Malawi Electoral Commission announced on Sunday.


Phase one of the registration exercise was covering Salima, Dedza and Kasungu districts and Kasungu Municipality.

And in a statement, MEC Chief Elections Officer Sam Alfandika said the electoral body has since advised its staff to register all people that will present themselves at a centre before closing time of 4.00PM on Monday.

“The Commission is advising all people in areas covered under phase one of voter registration, who have not registered, to go to the nearest centre in their ward to register before 4.00PM on Monday,” said Alfandika.

MEC intends to register eligible voters in six phases running from 24th May to 30th August, 2018.  Each phase will run for a period of 14 days irrespective of holidays and weekends.

Get Your Newsletter