Silver dislodge Bullets: TNM Super League

Written by  Yamikani Simutowe

Silver Strikers have claimed the TNM Super League top slot, thanks to their 1-2 away win over Karonga United in a highly contested match played at Karonga Stadium on Sunday.

"Ma Bankers" at the helm of the league "Ma Bankers" at the helm of the league

The win enabled Silver to dislodge Bullets who were held to a 2-all draw by Dwangwa United at Chitowe Stadium on Saturday.

Silver, widely known as the Bankers, tops the 16 member-log-table with 23 points from 10 games. Bullets are second with 22 points from the same number of games.

The Bankers netted through Jack Chiona and Victor Limbani while the home side reduced the arrears through Sherriff Shamama.

In other games, Ntchalo United failed to utilize the home ground advantage as they were restricted to a 1-all draw Azam Tigers. Cuthbert Sineta scored for the home side with Peter Katsonga replying for Azam Tigers.

Debutants TN Stars maintained their perfect run with a 2-1 home over military side, Mafco at Kasungu Stadium. Goals from Staine Davie and Tizgobere Kumwenda were enough for TN Stars to bag three points while Kingsley Nkhonjera scored Mafco’s consolation goal.

It was a great weekend for defending champions Mighty Be Forward Wanderers as they bagged five goals and six points from their two away assignments in the central region.

Wanderers, who beat Kamuzu Barracks 1-2 at Kasungu Stadium on Saturday, claimed a 0-3 win over Blue Eagles at Nankhaka Stadium.

The defending champions scored through Esau Kanyenda (brace) and Peter Wadabwa and on Saturday, they scored through Stanley Sanudi and Yamikani Chester with Kamuzu Barracks scoring through Francisco Kamdzeka.

Below are week 11 full results

Sunday, 24 June 2018

Nchalo United 1 Azam Tigers 1

TN Stars 2 Mafco FC 1

Karonga United 1 Silver Strikers 2

Blue Eagles 0 Be Forward Wanderers 3

Masters Security 1 Moyale 0

Saturday, 23 June 2018

Dwangwa United 2 Nyasa Big Bullets 2

Civil Sporting 3 Red Lions 2

Kamuzu Barracks 1 Be Forward Wanderers 2

Mzuni FC 1 Silver Strikers 1

Get Your Newsletter