Voting underway in Lilongwe South by-elections

Written by 

Voting is underway in a parliamentary by-election which the Malawi Electoral Commission- MEC is conducting in Lilongwe South Constituency.

Voting underway Voting underway

According to our reporters on the ground, there are five candidates contesting for the Parliamentary seat. The five are Frank Mazizi for the ruling Democratic Progressive-DPP, Peter Dimba of MCP, Julius Chombwe of Mbakuwaku, Patson Kachingwe Mthyoka and Samson Phinifolo, both independent candidates.

A visit to some centers out of the 27 shows a good turnout of voters. The by-election is being conducted following the death of a UTM candidate Agness Penemulungu prior to the May 21 elections.

Meanwhile, MEC spokesperson Sangwani Mwafulirwa  said the electoral management body has strategically  deployed polling staff and equipment in all 67 polling centres, where 32 459 registered voters are expected to cast the ballot.

Said Mwafulirwa: “We deployed all materials and we were doing pre-inspection to ensure all centres receive the right quantities. All staff have been trained and deployed.”

MEC is expected to announce the results on Friday at 10am.

About us

Malawi Broadcasting Corporation is a public broadcaster mandated and formed by Government under an Act of Parliament in 1964, to enhance the successful implementation of all its social and economic programs...

Social Media

Catch us on these social networks for more information

Facebook Twitter RSS

Get Your Newsletter