Power to continue shifting in Parliament as defections set in

Written by 

Power is likely to continue shifting in the Malawi National Assembly as some Independent Parliamentarians have already started joining political parties represented in the August House.


Parliamentary results which Malawi Electoral Commission released indicate that DPP won 62 seats, MCP 55, United Democratic Front (10), UTM (four) and Alliance for Democracy one.

And with the Independent MPs standing at 55, two leading parties-DPP and MCP- are poised to increase their strength as the stand-alone members are likely to go either way.

Meanwhile, Member of Parliament (MP) for Mzimba Luwerezi, Samuel Chirwa, has become the first to make such a move by declaring interest in working with Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) in and the House.

To win the Mzimba Luwerezi Constituency, Chirwa had to bag 10,414 votes, beating main competitor, former DPP MP for the constituency Deliwe Ngoma who went home with 7,194 votes. He also shrugged off competition from Malawi Congress Party (MCP), People’s Party (PP) UTM and Aford aspirants.

“I have come out to declare my interest in working with DPP and President Peter Mutharika because we want to be associating with the government. We have hope that, in so doing, we will benefit fully from the national development cake.

“I was DPP but decided to contest as an independent MP because, that time, voters advised me to do so. Now, I have also followed their advice to work with DPP both in Parliament and outside,” Chirwa, told a local news paper on Thursday.

DPP spokesperson, Nicholas Dausi, said the door was open for independent MPs and those interested in working with the President.

“Those who are interested in contributing to the development of Malawi are welcome to join hands with us,” he said.

Independent Members of Parliament are immune to Section 65 of the Constitution, which bar Members from crossing the floor as they are not elected on any party ticket.

Get Your Newsletter