APM, others collect nomination papers

Written by 

President Arthur Peter Mutharika has already collected nomination papers from the Malawi Electoral Commission - MEC in readiness for this year’s elections, the Commission has confirmed.

President Mutharika: Collects nomination papers President Mutharika: Collects nomination papers

President Mutharika is seeking a second and mandatory final presidential term under the banner of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP).

According to the MEC Publicist Sangwani Mwafulirwa, other presidential hopefuls that have also collected the papers include Malawi Congress Party (MCP) torch bearer Lazarus Chakwera, UTM president  Saulos Chilima (State Vice-President), former president Joyce Banda of  People’s Party (PP) and  leader of newly-formed Mbakuwaku Movement for Development (MMD),

Yet to collect his papers is  United Democratic Front (UDF) President Atupele Muluzi, who is also Minister of Health in Mutharika’s cabinet.

According to MEC, the window of collecting the papers remains open until next month.

Presidential election hopefuls must secure the support of electorate in each district in their nomination forms.

Mwafulirwa further told the local media that other three independent presidential hopefuls, Henry Mbewe, Smart Swira and Baxter Boyd  Natulu have also collected the papers.

Get Your Newsletter