MEC approves candidates for LL, KU Nov 5 by-elections

Written by  MBC Online

The Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) on Friday approved candidates for the November 5 by-election in two constituencies in Lilongwe and Kasungu.


MEC CEO Sam Alfandika said a total of ten nominations, all men, were received in the two areas where the by-elections will take place. The candidates eligible to stand are:

Lilongwe South Constituency:

Peter Dimba, Malawi Congress Party (MCP),
Julius Chombwe Grecian, Mbakuwaku Movement for Development (MMD),
Frank Namponya Mazizi, Democratic Progressive Party (DPP),
Patson Kachingwe Mthyoka, Independent,
Samson Phinifolo, UTM

Kasungu North West Constituency

Nelson Maseko, Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)
Chrifford Joseph Mbewe, Independent.
Shadreck Mvula, UTM
Vincent Phiri, Mbakuwaku Movement for Development (MMD)
Descent Msatero Chipangula, Malawi Congress Party.


Get Your Newsletter