MEC declares MCP's Dimba winner of LL South Constituency

Written by  MBC Online

MCP candidate Peter Dimba was on Friday declared winner of the Lilongwe South Constituency following a bye-election held January 30.

Jane Ansah, MEC Chairperson Jane Ansah, MEC Chairperson

Dimba won by 11,230 votes, beating his rival Frank Mazizi of DPP with a wide margin. He got 1,663 votes.


There were five contestants in total.


MEC Chairperson Justice Jane Ansah announced the results at a hotel in Blantyre, where she bemoaned low- turn at the bye election.


She said about half of the 32,495 registered voters turned up, representing 46.97 percent.


Ansah said MEC was satisfied with the vote, saying it was conducted in a "free environment without fear and intimidation."


The bye-election was held after one of the candidates during the tripartite elections of May 21, Agnes Penemulungu, died.


An attempt to hold the vote last October was aborted after violent clashes erupted between political parties.


Ansah said the vote was postponed to "save lives, property and give room for addressing challenges."


Login Form

About us

Malawi Broadcasting Corporation is a public broadcaster mandated and formed by Government under an Act of Parliament in 1964, to enhance the successful implementation of all its social and economic programs...

Social Media

Catch us on these social networks for more information

Facebook Twitter RSS

Get Your Newsletter